Department of Physics at Gakushuin Unversity

Last modified: June 1, 2018

to Japanese
Faculty of Science home page

[Si melt]

address: Department of Physics, Gakushuin University, Mejiro, Toshima-ku, Tokyo171-8588, Japan

phone: 81-3-5992-1107 (Faculty of science)

fax: 81-3-5992-1029 (Faculty of science)

Department chairman: Takuya Hirano

The image on the right: Electromagnetically levitated Silicon melt (from our crystal science group)

[heading] Overview

Gakushuin University is a relatively small private university located in one of the most convenient places in Tokyo. Unlike many colleges in big cities, however, it has a large beautiful campus with plenty of trees and greenery.

The physics department is a small department with sixteen faculty members (see the list below) and roughly two hundred students. The department is well known for its highly qualified education and research activities. [BEC]

There are eight independent research groups in the department. Each group, which is the core of our research, consists of a professor and a research associate as well as graduate and undergraduate students. The five groups in experimental physics cover a wide range of fields including condensed matter physics, surface physics, quantum optics, crystal science, and biophysics. The three theoretical groups cover condensed matter physics, statistical physics, mathematical physics, relativity, and cosmology.

The image on the right: Vacuum equipment for Bose-Einstein condensation of atom gases (from our quantum optics group)

[heading] Undergraduate education

Undergraduate students learn basic physic through small class lectures, problem sessions, and experiments in small groups. The environment is intimate and supportive without too much competitive pressures.

In the fourth year, each student joins one of our research groups and participates in a genuine research activity. The students are encouraged to make their own contributions in their senior papers, and some of them really accomplish this goal.

[heading] Graduate program

Graduate students, who become members of our research groups from their first year, are the major driving force of research activities in the department. The students are expected to become independent researchers who can participate in scientific investigations based on their own views and interests. It is not at all uncommon for a graduate student to report his/her own findings at international conferences.

The physics department offers the degrees in master and doctor of science.

[heading] Research groups and faculty members

Arakawa group (Surface science) Ichiro Arakawa, Prof.
Koichiro Yamakawa, Res. Assoc.
Hirano group (Quantum optics) Takuya Hirano, Prof.
Kosuke Shibata, Res. Assoc.
Nishizaka group (Biophysics) Takayuki Nishizaka, Prof.
Daisuke Nakane, Res. Assoc.
Machida group (Condensed matter physics) Yo Machida, Assoc. Prof.
Takayuki Isono, Res. Assoc.
Watanabe group (Crystal science) Masahito Watanabe, Prof.
Masakatsu Tubota, Res. Assoc.
Theoretical physics group Daisuke Ida, Prof.
Masafumi Udagawa, Assoc. Prof.,
Hal Tasaki, Prof.
Tohru Koma, Res. Assoc.
Toru Miyazawa, Res. Assoc.
Masahiro Takahashi, Res. Assoc.

Takuya Hirano
Department of Physics, Gakushuin Univeristy
Tokyo, Japan

Faculty of Science home page